40m QIL Cryo_Lab CTN SUS_Lab TCS_Lab OMC_Lab CRIME_Lab FEA ENG_Labs OptContFac Mariner WBEEShop
  Cryo Lab eLog  Not logged in ELOG logo
Entry  Mon Nov 30 11:28:30 2020, aaron, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll IMG_0195.jpg
    Reply  Tue Dec 1 10:59:49 2020, aaron, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll 
       Reply  Wed Dec 2 13:37:55 2020, aaron, Noise Hunting, Laser, W laser oscillating 
          Reply  Thu Dec 3 10:18:07 2020, aaron, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll 
          Reply  Thu Dec 3 11:57:52 2020, rana, Noise Hunting, Laser, W laser oscillating 
             Reply  Fri Dec 4 10:36:18 2020, aaron, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll IMG_0015.PNG
                Reply  Sun Dec 6 19:22:10 2020, rana, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll 
                   Reply  Thu Dec 10 10:05:03 2020, aaron, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll IMG_0016.PNG
       Reply  Wed Feb 10 12:39:08 2021, rana, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll 
          Reply  Thu Feb 11 09:59:31 2021, aaron, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll 
          Reply  Thu Feb 11 17:24:41 2021, rana, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll PXL_20210212_000327036~2.jpg
             Reply  Mon Feb 15 14:57:25 2021, aaron, Noise Hunting, Laser, pll 
Message ID: 2600     Entry time: Sun Dec 6 19:22:10 2020     In reply to: 2599     Reply to this: 2601
Author: rana 
Type: Noise Hunting 
Category: Laser 
Subject: pll 

Doesn't the phase meter just read out the noise even with no locking? I thought that was going to be the magic.

For locking, the mixer readout is in units of phase and the laser current modulation gives a proportional frequency modulation with no frequency wiggles until > 1 MHz. So it should phase lock with no integrator, but I'm not sure if the free running noise will drive it out of the phase lock or not. I wonder if its possible to use the phase meter as an error signal. It would be much easier to lock frequency instead of phase via a mixer.

 

ELOG V3.1.3-